To Write or Not to Write – That is the Question

I can remember a day when I wanted to write, but I didn’t think it was worth my time. Why? Because I didn’t believe in myself… because I allowed my mother’s criticism to affect my confidence. At this point I’m a many times published author and I’ve founded two writing schools, but guess what? Mom still doesn’t think I’m a writer. *shrug*

I was fortunate to have a husband who said, “I don’t care what your mom says, I believe in you and you’re a writer. All you have to do is step out and go for it.”

Maybe you don’t have that kind of support. In that case, you have to be your own cheerleader. Don’t let someone else’s shortsightedness determine which way your river will flow.

Do you see that bright star? No? Look up. It’s right over your head. See it now? That’s YOUR star. But you won’t have ownership until you claim it. Take a chance on rejection. It’s a major part of every writer’s life and accepting that is your first hurdle. Still don’t have the courage to write? Send me an email and let me give you the encouragement you need. deborahowen@cwinst.com

*Free writing tips available in The Writer’s Choice Newsletter at http://www.creativewritinginstitute.com. Fear not… I respect your privacy. I won’t sell your name or spam you to death. 🙂

Leave a Reply

