How to Overcome Writer’s Block

Some Helpful Tips

by Deborah Owen

More often than not, writer’s block is caused by not writing regularly.

Most people are overcome and overwhelmed when writer’s block strikes, and rightly so. A writer who can’t write is much like a pianist who can’t play. Worse yet, writer’s block will carry over into other areas of your life. Don’t let depression and discouragement get you down. It’s vital to stay positive in order to get back in control.

Organization is the key to breaking writer’s block. Start by organizing your life in little ways, by setting short-term goals. Reasonable goals. For example, brush your teeth at the same time every day, or sweep one room at the same time every day. Try to eat at the same time. Get up the first time the alarm clock goes off, and go to bed at the same time every night. The idea is to gain control and meet your goals. When you can live a somewhat regulated life for a week or two, it’s time to work on your writer’s block in a more direct way.

Sit down to write for at least 15 minutes a day, every day. Inasmuch as possible, do it at the same time. What you write isn’t important. Write what you’re thinking about, or write a biography. Write about your parents or a childhood sweetheart that jilted you. Write about something that makes you mad or your problems in life. Anything emotional. If you can’t even write about that, write about the inability to write. Just write! Before two weeks are out, you will rediscover the muse (inward creative stirring) and you’ll be on your way again.

To prevent losing the muse, continue writing at the same time every day, and when you’re ready to take a writing course, remember Creative Writing Institute, where every student receives a personal tutor.

Don’t be satisfied with less than the best. Check it out today.

If you liked this article, be sure to follow our blog here on WordPress! You can also find links for our Facebook and Twitter pages at our website: www.CreativeWritingInstitute.com.

3 thoughts on “How to Overcome Writer’s Block

  1. Hi Deb,
    Such a great writing tip. Good advice. I feel so free now . Better than ever.
    Thanks to Ms Deb and her staff of great teachers. @ C W I There is help for everyone
    who wants to learn to write better, as Deb said on the first page, which first caught my attention. I was “Hooked” ! “You are never to old to Learn ”
    This is what I was looking for , for months, and now I found her (ms Deb).
    My friend . She advised me, directed me where to start writing and learning.
    And I am so glad I listened to her. she is always caring about your writing.
    Thank you all for listening,
    Happy Day
    Sonny

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on dingersonny and commented:
    Hi Deb,
    Thank you for such great writing tips each time one comes,
    This one I can certainly relate to and until I started writing daily I
    was having much of writers block.
    Until you advised me to write just what you know, what you want to say.
    My typing even became faster which is what I wanted, also Thank you.
    I now , better know why you’re known as an Expert Writer/editor.
    That is also why I bought my first course,..writing is like music.
    it keeps me hungry/anxious to learn more. Being more positive
    about life from day to day ! what a great feeling with great teachers!
    Bless you and keep up the good work
    Thank you for listening. you’re great People! at C W I !

    Like

Leave a Reply

